AkronDave

What it is

Once again battling The Beast

I have waged war against my nemesis, the bathtub drain, aka The Beast. Not for the first time. Not likely for the last time. It is a tenacious foe, rising up like a rain-swollen creek after a storm. But I have tamed The Beast, at least for the time being.

drain

It was not without a struggle. As always. My battles with The Beast, and all manner of plumbing, are well documented. Read more here if you care to relive my nightmares. Or here. As I mentioned, I’ve had my share of run-ins with this innocuous-looking bastard. After enduring several days of complaints about how slow the drain has gotten (again), I finally relented to the hounding of Mrs. AkronDave and the offspring. She called it my Christmas Gift to her.

Well, it’s cheaper than jewelry, as long as I do it myself. An actual plumber is another story altogether.

Funny, nobody offered to help.

After a few jabs with the rusty old snake, I broke out my secret weapon, the trusty old Sears wet/dry vacuum. It’s no thing of beauty, but it has saved my butt on numerous occasions. It’s like a Medieval knight’s battered old shield. It does the job when it’s needed.

The Beast was particularly stubborn today. At one point the drain seemed to get worse instead of better. Could my secret weapon have failed me? Would I have to take out a loan and hire a plumber? A real plumber? After wandering through the house muttering obscenities, I took a few more stabs at vacuuming out the drain, nearly overfilling the vacuum with filthy waste water. This is not a good thing (see previous posts in links).

At long last, I did slay The Beast without rupturing any drains or flooding the basement (you bet I checked!).

Merry  Christmas, Honey.

You can shower without standing in 6 inches of soapy water now.

December 26, 2013 - Posted by | akrondave, General rant, Holidays, Household disasters and other domestic events | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] This tale of plumbing woe is fraught with woulda- coulda- shouldas. Alas, it was not to be. And so I have a basement with soggy carpeting, soggy insulation and soggy not-so-drywall. This is yet another chapter in the saga of my hate-hate relationship with the plumbing in my house. Not familiar with the history? Curious? Follow the bread crumbs here. […]

    Pingback by Plumbing Nightmare, Chapter 6 « AkronDave | January 9, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 561 other followers

