Now that we’ve run out of homes to foreclose

Some actual good news on the economic front and in quality of life issues in my particular neck of the woods: Property values appear to be on an upward trend after a long slide that dovetailed with a huge spike in foreclosures on homes in Northeast Ohio. That giant sucking sound you heard in Cuyahoga County seems to be abating as property values climbed 4.2 percent in Cleveland from May to June, according to my friends at WCPN-FM, Cleveland’s NPR station.

My kids’ school, Miller South, scored Excellent with Distinction, the best you can get. The rest of Akron Public Schools didn’t fare as well, but public systems are often unfairly saddled with scores that must include kids who will never do well in tests or in school for a variety of socioeconomic reasons and because kids with learning disabilities are counted in those tests.

So we have a bright spot or two. But it ain’t all wine and roses just yet. Newspapers and other media continue to hemorrhage money, former media types (such as yours truly) still struggle to make a decent living in this new world, and I’m still seeing houses being foreclosed or selling at deep discounts. I’d give more serious thought to moving out of here if I could afford to sell the house. But I’m stuck, and the simple math is it’s cheaper to stay in the house than rent a similar sized house or even an apartment.

I’ve been lucky enough to fall in with one of the few local employers actually expanding locally, but I now face a huge crater of debt to climb out of. Can somebody throw me a rope?

I gotta say, the first decade of this millennium has pretty much sucked for a multitude of reasons, from terrorist attacks and disastrously mismanaged wars to magically disappearing careers to all those little things that drive me crazy. Maybe things are turning around. Finally.

Leave a Reply

