What happened to August?

Well, this summer is just flying by. Seems like the Fourth of July was just … ummm, a few weeks ago. Suddenly the kids are back in school. There’s a nip in the air. Fooooootball.

Meanwhile, election fraud once again is in the news, this time in that lovely garden spot of Afghanistan, which pundits 20 years ago called “The Soviet Union’s Vietnam,” which is fast becoming our Vietnam II (or III), which George Will is now soberly telling us we need to abandon ASAP. Apparently Karzai’s goons are not very subtle about this election fraud. Nearly 24,000 forged votes isn’t subtle.

It’s a little late now, but if the Bush Boys had listened to me, we’d have sent all the firepower we squandered in Iraq and killed every last one of the Taliban and al-Qaida in Afghanistan dead before they could scatter like cockroaches on the Pakistani border. But they didn’t listen to me. Come to think of it, I guess I didn’t try very hard to tell them about my brilliant plan. Not that they would have listened, but I could have tried harder. Then my “I told you so” would have been a little more satisfying.

Instead, the current White House occupant is stuck with two unpopular wars and the situation in Afghanistan (Quagmire, anyone?) is getting worse, say folks there.

Not good.

I know, I know, there isn’t really much I can do about the sitch in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Berzerkistan or any of the other Stans (LaurelStan?). I guess it’s the old newshound in me.

I am, however, going to do something about the health-care reform thing. We need  a major overhaul of the system. We don’t need more multimillion-dollar insurance executives telling us what’s good for us, or worse, whispering into the ears of congressmen or spin doctors. I want read doctors, not spin doctors, in charge of the system.

I can sense that there’s a rant growing here, so I’ll stop now and save the rant for another day.

It’s a nice day out today. I think I’ll go for a bike ride. Back to work tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

