Girl cave. No, really, a 12-year-old girl stayed here

 

This is Mary Campbell Cave, so named for the 12-year-old girl who apparently stayed here as a “guest” of Delaware Indians. This is in Gorge Park in Cuyahoga Falls, for folks not familiar with Northeast Ohio. I struck out on this unseasonably warm day in hopes of finding signs of life. I found slush and mud, mostly.

 

The trees are nekkid and soft, slushy ice still covers part of the Cuyahoga River near the dam.

How does a tree grow in rock? Botanists may submit your answers in the comments section. My two botany classes didn’t cover trees growing in rocks.

I heard some critter’s peep, which seemed to come from this nook at the cave. Maybe it’s the mysterious rock squirrel, which cleverly blends into rocky surroundings as a protective camouflage. *

 

* I completely made up the part about a “rock squirrel.” To my knowledge there is no such thing.

 

 

One thought on “Girl cave. No, really, a 12-year-old girl stayed here

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog because I was emailing you a screen shot of an article on Deadspin.com that I was looking at. I have been there and really like the Gorge, and even used to go there to read on the wooden benches down near the waterfalls.

Leave a Reply

