Life goes on

Planks for the memories.

It was about 6 p.m. today, and I was returning from a decidedly somber event (viewed from a distance) – the wake for a 16-year-old girl who had been shot to death in one of those senseless slaughters you read/hear about in other places far, far away but not here, except this one was here.

I did not know her, or any of the other victims who were shot to death in a killing spree that lasted  less than 10 minutes, but you don’t have to know them to have been affected by such a shocking turn of events. I was there as an observer, keeping a respectful distance, to report the facts of the event and retreat back into my little life across town.

On the way back home I happened to notice two teenage boys in a parking lot near the intersection where my car idled as I waited for the light to change.

One of the kids climbed onto a utility box, about 10 feet high, and “assumed the position.” He and his buddy were laughing and I shouted out the window, “You planking?”  He and his buddy laughed and I started digging for the camera, yelling, “do it!” and just as the light turned green I snapped the shot.

My first spontaneous planking.

Even as we’re engulfed in the saddest moments of our lives, life goes on. Amid sorrow, there is joy. The world doesn’t stop. It waits for nobody. This thought occurs to me every time I see a funeral procession plod through traffic, holding up the busy folk nearby from going about their busy ways, if only for a few moments, before lurching back into motion.

I’m not one to get into “God’s will” and that sort of stuff, but sometimes you have to wonder why of all times I’d run across this little moment. And I wonder if anyone else at the intersection of Merriman Road and Portage Path noticed at about 6 p.m. on a Thursday in August that two young guys were having a goof on an electric box just for the hell of it, and got a good laugh out of it.

Still smiling.

Leave a Reply

