The birds and the bees

Twas a lovely day on the Bike and Hike Trail at and near Water Works Park, with spring in full bloom. I didn’t see any deer today, but the chipmunks were out in force. And they’re getting complacent, too. Nearly ran over one lazy chipper on the trail.

It was hard to tell from the distance, but it looks like one of the ospreys has returned to Water Works, but no mate was in site. Anyway, it’s nice to have some nature so nearby — I don’t even need to get in a car to get there. Five minutes on a bike.

This appears to be your basic honeybee, although I hear the honeybee population is threatened by insecticides and other forms of pestilence, which could be bad news for many crops. Love long and prosper, little honeybee.

“I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille.” Wish this camera had a macro lens. Focus could be a little sharper. Maybe this is an aging starlet bee who needs soft focus for those romantic close-up shots. Yeah, that’s it. I meant to do that.  

Not sure if this is the same bee or not.

Your basic butterfly. Any entomologists out there who can identify the species?

Yes, yet another bee.

A blue heron at Water Works. One of the hazards of shooting though a chain link fence with autofocus is the links can play havoc with the autofocus. Wish I’d trusted my own eyes. The grass in the background is in better focus than the bird.

Apparently the birds were not in a cooperative mood on this day. I think this is an osprey, but it’s hard to tell from this distance. There was a nesting pair of ospreys in this same area last year. But so far only one of these raptors has shown up and I didn’t see a nest.

I believe this is an iris of some sort. These are seen in many spots along the Cuyahoga River, in the Bike and Hike trails and the Towpath.

Waiting for the Swamp Creatures to emerge. Or not.

OK, this clematis is in my backyard. I cheated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

