Turtle love

Spring is in the air and a reptile’s thoughts turn to, ahem,  turtle love. Consider this a PG-13 posting. With the sun mostly shining and temps creeping up near 70, it seemed like a good idea to head down to the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, seeing as it’s virtually in my backyard. Spring got a little later start than last year, but last year was a bit of a fluke. Things are just starting to green up in the Valley.

One turtle, two turtles, three turtles more!

One turtle, two turtles, three turtles more!

Yes, this is what you think it is. Couple of snappers gettin' it on!

Yes, this is what you think it is. Couple of snappers gettin’ it on!

And now on to some tamer material:

I almost stepped on this little slitherer.

I almost stepped on this little slitherer.

beaver dam

Looks like the beavers have done a bit of remodeling.

beaver tree2

More evidence of busy beavers.

berries

I wonder why the birds haven’t gotten to these berries. Maybe they’re past their expiration date.

budding

cardinal

This cardinal made me have to work for this photo — no autofocus!

daffy!

grassy tuft

green bug

I don’t believe I’ve seen one of these bugs before. Some sort of beetle, I think. And I almost spelled it Beatle! Further research reveals that this is probably a six-spotted tiger beetle.

little squirrel

We don’t have this kind of squirrel in my neighborhood.

mile 28

A triumph in photographic composition. The beaver pond is just a few yards from this mile marker.

Leave a Reply

