I want to ride my bicycle

I know, October is an odd time to stage the year’s maiden voyage on the bike, but circumstances (and laziness) kept me off the trail this spring and summer. This trip revealed just how out of shape I am. No surprise here. But I survived, got some pix via the Droid mini (as usual, regret not lugging the DSLR along), and got home without having a heart attack. Took a shortcut through Silver Lake to the Bike and Hike Trail along the Mighty Cuyahoga River, took a swing through Water Works Park and huffed my way home. Here is the evidence:

A little more color at the park.

A little more color at the park.

Apparently somebody is still feeding the feral cats. despite posted signage warning of fine/jail time for "littering" in the park. All that cat food draws flies and other undesirables. Such as more feral cats.

Apparently somebody is still feeding the feral cats. despite posted signage warning of fine/jail time for “littering” in the park. All that cat food draws flies and other undesirables. Such as more feral cats.

The cat house. Members only!

The cat house. Members only!

A dry September means low water on the Mighty Cuyahoga .

A dry September means low water on the Mighty Cuyahoga .

Why do these selfies make my face look so fat? Could explain why I don't do a lot of selfies ....

Why do these selfies make my face look so fat? Could explain why I don’t do a lot of selfies ….

It  had been so long since I’d been on the ol’ two-wheeler that its tires were completely flat. Not just a little low on air. Flat. But after applying some air and lubricant, both bike and rider were able to shake off the rust. It wasn’t pretty, though. According to Google Maps, it’s roughly a 5-mile round trip. Not exactly setting the world on fire, but hey! It’s a start.

2 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle

Leave a Reply

