Crime scene

I don’t find news so much as it finds me. Case in point: Yesterday my apartment complex was fairly swarming with cops, FBI, K-9 dogs.

When the first few officers showed up, in plain clothes, and I saw an obviously distraught young mom, I thought, “Hmmm, custody case, no real news here.”

I was mistaken.

When the FBI and dogs showed up, I knew this was something more. Nosy journalista that I am, I asked what’s going on. Terse response was to call Avon police.

News tip: Late Saturday evening Avon police got a call about two missing girls. A 12-year-old and the 2-year-old toddler she was baby-sitting.

So I snapped a few (mostly crappy) photos, hauled off to work and told reporter Evan Goodenow and photog Anna Norris at the Chronicle-Telegram about what was happening. Here’s the story.

And now here are some pix from my little neighborhood.

cops5

cops6

cops7

cops8

cops9

cops11

Close-up detail of photo above. That is the flier police distributed to local media as part of their search. It paid off Sunday evening when an Elyria resident spotted the girls.

Close-up detail of photo above. That is the flier police distributed to local media as part of their search. It paid off Sunday evening when an Elyria resident spotted the girls.

Leave a Reply

